Gaceta Médica de México

Contents by Year, Volume and Issue

Table of Contents

General Information

Instructions for Authors

Message to Editor

Editorial Board

>Journals >Gaceta Médica de México >Year 2015, Issue 2

Zárate A, Manuel AL, Saucedo R, Basurto L
Commentary on the Nobel Prize that has been granted in Medicine-Physiology, Chemistry and Physics to noteable investigators
Gac Med Mex 2015; 151 (2)

Language: Español
References: 5
Page: 281-286
PDF: 459.08 Kb.

Full text


The Nobel Prize was established by Alfred Nobel in 1901 to award people who have made outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry and medicine. So far, from 852 laureates, 45 have been female. Marie Curie was the first woman to receive the Nobel Prize in 1903 for physics and eight years later also for chemistry. It is remarkable that her daughter Irene and her husband also received the Nobel Prize for chemistry in 1935. Other two married couples, Cori and Moser, have also been awarded the Nobel Prize. The present commentary attempts to show the female participation in the progress of scientific activities.

Key words: Nobel Prize, Nobel Prize winning women, Female scientists.


  1. Pasqualini CD. Fifteen women received the Nobel Prize in science. Medicina. 2013;73(3):277-9.

  2. Ferry C. History: Women in crystallography. Nature. 2014;505(7485):609-11.

  3. Zarate A, Manuel L. El radioinmunoensayo y su impacto en la investigación. Tributo a Rosalyn Yalow. Rev Med Inst Mex Seguro Soc. 2011; 49(5):349-52.

  4. Nobelprize.org (ed.): «The Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2014».

  5. [Internet] Disponible en: http://www.fisicanet.com.ar/biografias/nobelquimica/ bibliografias3/yonath.php.

>Journals >Gaceta Médica de México >Year 2015, Issue 2

· Journal Index 
· Links 

Copyright 2019